2017 Finalists

We are proud and privileged to announce the finalists of the Crabbie’s National Rugby Awards 2017.

This year our expert panel had an especially difficult task as there were over 1000 nominees, all with justifiable claims for a prize.

After much deliberation the judges deemed the following to have earned the right to join us at Twickenham Stadium on August 30th for an evening’s celebration of the wonderful game of rugby, from grassroots level to professional, the biggest event of its kind in the world and a ceremony and prize giving to remember.

Mens Amateur Player of the Year

1. Sam Neave – West Leeds RUFC
2. Nick Doherty – Tunbridge Wells RFC
3. Jay Geraty – Ivybridge RFC
4. Steve Jones – Christleton RUFC
5. Oliver Neusten – Barnet Elizabethans RFC
6. Jaewon Jang – Old Tiffinians RFC

Club Sponsor of the Year

1. Hills Construction – Kingswood RFC
2. Hall-Fast Industrial Supplies Ltd – Nottingham Rugby & Paviors Rugby Club
3. Heffers Designs – Bath RFC Ladies
4. AMD Electricals – Witham Rugby Club

Facility Development of the Year

1. Plymstock Albion Oaks
2. Isle of Wight RFC
3. Weston-Super-Mare RFC
4. Ilford Wanderers RFC

Men’s Team of the Year

1. Manchester RFC
2. Kirkby Lonsdale RUFC
3. St Ives RFC (Midlands) 2nd XV
4. Witham Rugby Club
5. Plymouth Argaum RFC
6. Farnham RUFC

Rugby Club of the Year

1. Winscombe RFC
2. Wheatley RUFC
3. Tynedale RFC
4. New Milton & District RFC
5. Upper Clapton RFC
6. Hartpury College

Rugby Club Volunteer of the Year

1. Bernadette Chubb – Yeovil RFC
2. Lucy Hancock – Plymouth Argaum RFC
3. Darren Smith – Witham Rugby Club
4. Darren Louth – Keresley Rugby Club
5. Martyn Booth – Aireborough RUFC
6. Mark Jordan – Mavericks RFC

Rugby Coach of the Year

1. Simon Brown – Rugby School
2. Adam Civil – Old Northamptonians RFC
3. Joe Harwood – Newbury RFC
4. Calum Mills – Plymouth Argaum RFC
5. Andy Neave – West Leeds RUFC
6. Joe Burden – Exeter Saracens RFC

School of the Year

1. The John Fisher School
2. Warwick School
3. Howbridge Church of England Junior School
4. Cranleigh School
5. Brighton College
6. Rugby School

Women’s Player of the Year

1. Kirsty Parr – York RI Ladies
2. Ellie Rodgers – Sudbury RUFC
3. Alix Taylor – Barnsley Rugby Club
4. Ailish Clear – Harrogate Ladies RUFC
5. Laura McGillivray – Royston RFC

Women’s Team of the Year

1. Barnsley Ladies
2. Yeovil Ladies
3. Old Northamptonians Ladies
4. Westbury Ladies
5. Bath RFC Ladies
6. Darlington Ladies

Youth & Mini Section of the Year

1. Wigan RFC
2. Newark Rugby Club
3. Woodrush RFC
4. Bury St Edmunds RFC
5. Veseyans Rugby
6. Bingham RUFC

Rugby Lifetime Achievement Award

1. Andrew Woodruff – Avonmouth Old Boys RFC
2. Andy Ambrose – Nuneaton RFC
3. Doug Bridgeman – Kettering Rugby Club
4. Peter Blackwood – Caithness RFC
5. David Rhodes – Nottingham Rugby & Nottingham Corsairs Rugby
6. Trevor Large – RugbyUnited


We at Zeus would like to take this opportunity to thank all nominees, all supporters and all members of the rugby family, the event is a salutation to one and all and we hope to see you in the future.